83rd Annual Fall Conference -- September 10-12, 2014
Questions? Contact IPWSOA at 217-652-1869 or statestreet30@juno.com

About Us

The Illinois Potable Water Supply Operators Association (IPWSOA) was formed in the fall of 1931 by the Illinois Board of Health. Operators met regulatory officials to listen to presentations regarding health and safety issues for drinking water, new laws and rules, potable water production, distribution, monitoring, and the competent operation of drinking water facilities. The purpose of the gathering was to keep drinking water operators current with regulations and state-of-the-art changes to water operation. The day ended with a picnic, where attendees celebrated the success of the day, and discussed the need for a regular meeting to ensure that drinking water operators continued to receive the most up-to-date information regarding operations and regulations in their industry. The Illinois Potable Water Supply Operators Association became a reality.

Over the years, changes to operation, rapidly increasing regulations, and the marketing of products and services to the water industry caused the Association to expand the Annual Fall Conference. The Conference now spans two and one-half full days of education; an Exhibit Hall that brings manufacturers, service experts and vendors to a drinking water marketplace; and evening social activities that include an opportunity to recognize the best operators in the categories of surface water, groundwater, and distribution system operation, each year. The heart of the Conference — the exchange of information and experiences, from operator to operator, from across the many regions of the State – remains the same. No matter where operators congregate, the challenges, problems, and successful solutions to safe and efficient water treatment remain the most common topic of discussion, regardless of the time of day or night.

Come and share your experiences, ask your questions, and relate your experiences as an Illinois drinking water operator, regulator, or industry professional. We welcome you

read more

President’s Letter

Welcome to the Illinois Potable Water Supply Operators Association. Formed in 1931, the Association was a way for operators to meet with regulatory officials to discuss new rules, operations, and safety issues. From that first meeting, the Association has evolved into a two and a half day conference which is attended by over 1,000 operators from throughout the state.

The 82nd Annual Fall Conference is slated to be held at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Springfield, Illinois on September 11 – 13, 2013. As in the past, the Conference will offer a wide variety of IEPA approved continuing education classes for attending operators. From plant operations to keeping abreast of new federal and state mandates, the conference offers something for everyone.

The “Operator of the Year” award, given to the top three operators in each classification of Distribution, Ground Water, and Surface Water, is the highlight of the conference. This is a way to thank those who have demonstrated excellence during the year. In addition, be sure to take the time and walk through the vendors’ area. With over 80 vendors in attendance, it is a great way to learn of new products on the market or discuss problems you might be incurring. We will also be having our annual golf scramble at the Rail Country Club, Casino Night, mini-NASCAR racing in the vendors’ area and an amazing spouse program. The Conference is a great way to create new friendships and renew old ones.

I wish to thank my fellow board members, committee members, and numerous volunteers for the many hours of help that it takes to make this such a great conference. Looking forward to seeing you in Springfield.

Best Regards,


Kevin B. Johnessee
Northeast Central County Public Water District
IPWSOA President

read more

Officer & Committee Chair List

2013 – 2014 IPWSOA Officer & Committee Chair List

IPWSOA Information or Questions:
PO Box 1146
Jacksonville, IL 62650
Phone: 217-652-1869 e-Mail: statestreet30@juno.com


Ray Weller
4303 Illinois Rte. 16
Litchfield IL 62056
1st Vice President
Dale Biggerstaff
1012 South Hancock Street
McLeansboro, IL 62859
2nd Vice President
Ken Drennen
2209 5th Street
Peru, IL 61354
815 830-4555 watercop1@yahoo.com
3rd Vice President
Larry P. Cook
1309 Mill Street
Rock Island, IL 61201
Immediate Past-President
Kevin Johnessee
8425 Timber Ridge
Edwardsville, IL 62025
Past President 2013
A. Tony Loete
City of Moline
3018th Street
Moline, IL 61265
309-524-2306 (Work)
Past President 2012
Brian Curley
Village of Winnetka
510 Greenbay Road
Winnetka, IL 60093-2552
847-716-3644 (Work)
Michael Buss
1812 Washington
Highland, IL 62249
618/654-9321 (Work)
Patti Schaake
209 Burns Farm Boulevard North (Home)
Edwardsville, IL 62025
618-972-3708 (Cell)
618-692-0202 (Home) pattischaake@aol.com
Executive Director
Lou Allyn Byus
1330 West State Street
Jacksonville, IL 62650
PO Box 1146
Jacksonville, IL 62651-1146
217-652-1869 statestreet30@juno.com


Operator of the Year Chairman
Ted Meckes
City Water Light & Power
General Office MCE 4th Floor
800 East Monroe Street
Springfield, IL 62701
(217) 789-2116 ext. 2624
Fax: 217-789-2136
Operator of the Year Chairwoman
Kim Lucas
City Water Light & Power
3100 Stevenson Drive
Springfield, IL 62703
(217) 757-8630 ext. 1703
Fax: 217-757-8625
Exhibit Chairman
Andrew J. Kieser
Sodemann & Associates, Inc.
a division of Fehr-Gram
PO Box 557
Champaign, IL 61824-0557
Spouse Chairwoman
Connie Werner
1417 Washington Street
Highland, IL 62249-2529
Golf Chairman
Bill Brown
Crawford, Murphy & Tilly
2750 West Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62702
217-572-1117 (Work)
217-787-4183 (FAX)
read more